Skip to content Skip to footer

Black Girl Freedom Week

Hosted by Black Girl Freedom Fund, Black Girl Freedom Week (February 14-20, 2021) is a week-long celebration of Black girls, Black cis and trans girls, Black gender expansive youth, Black femmes, and what is possible when we invest abundantly in their dreams, their power, and their leadership, and work together to co-create a future where they are safe, free, and thriving.

Event Schedule

  • Sunday
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday

Recognizing Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives:The Minnesota Indian Women’s Sexual Assault Coalition, in collaboration with 16 organizations, is hosting a series of virtual events to demand visibility and justice for Indigenous women, girls, men, boys, LGBTQI/Two-Spirit, transgender, and gender non-conforming people who are target for murder, abduction and trafficking. Join Sheila Zephier, Director of Community Engagement atMinnesota Indian Women's Resource Center and Scheherazade Tillet, Co-Founder and Executive Director of A Long Walk Home and co-founder of Black Girl Freedom Fund for a “In Solidarity: Black and Indigenous Youth Panel,” with Amber Sky Stevens (MIWRC), Hopa Stevens (MIWRC), Laurel Henry (MIWRC), Angelina Cofer (ALWH), Aziyah Roberts (KOCO), and Anaya Frazier (ALWH).

Sunday, February 14, | 2:15 PM ET  | 1:15 PM, CT | 12:15 PM, MT | 11:15 AM, PT

Watch live on Facebook HERE.

Black Girl Freedom Week Welcome with Dr. Monique W. Morris and Rashida Jones: Executive Director of Grantmakers for Girls of Color, and co-founder of Black Girl Freedom Fund opens the first Black Girl Freedom Week with actress, writer, and producer Rashida Jones. Black Girl Freedom Week is a celebration that centers the dreams, power, and leadership of Black girls to ensure a safe, free, and thriving future. 

Monday, February 15, 5-5:30 PM, ET | 4-4:30 PM, CT | 3-3:30 PM, MT | 2-2:30 PM, PT

Black Girls Run the World: 14-Year-Old Student Activist Naomi Wadler with Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley: Dr. Monique W. Morris introduces a conversation about the leadership of Black girls and women to create change, from grassroots to the halls of Congress, with Naomi Wadler and U.S. Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (D-MA, 7th District).

Monday, February 15, 6-6:40 PM, ET | 5-5:40 PM, CT | 4-4:40 PM, MT | 3-3:40 PM, PT

A Call to Act and Invest, with Teresa C. Younger and Tynesha McHarris: Hear how Ciara, Beverly Bond, Valerie Jarrett, Rashida Jones, Gabrielle Union and many others came together to publish an open letter on the 57th anniversary of the Birmingham church bombing, calling for $1 billion to secure a vibrant future for Black girls. Join Teresa C. Younger, President and CEO of Ms. Foundation for Women and Co-founder of Black Girl Freedom Fund and Tynesha McHarris, Founder of Black Harvest LLC.
Tuesday, February 16, 5-5:30 PM, ET | 4-4:30 PM, CT | 3-3:30 PM, MT | 2-2:30 PM, PT

Party with Quiana Parks: A powerful and uplifting musical set with Quiana Parks, Creative Director, Fine Artist, DJ, and blood cancer survivor.
Tuesday, February 16, 6-7 PM, ET | 5-6 PM, CT | 4-5 PM, MT | 3-4 PM, PT

Safety and Justice for Black Girls, with Fatima Goss Graves and Youth Activists: How can we create safe communities for Black girls? Join the conversation with Black girl activists and Fatima Goss Graves, President and CEO of the National Women’s Law Center and co-founder of Black Girl Freedom Fund, who explore policy priorities that uphold justice for Black girls and their families.
Wednesday, February 17, 5:30-6 PM, ET | 4:30-5 PM, CT | 3:30-4 PM, MT | 2:30-3 PM, PT

Black Girls and Disability Justice with L. Dara Baldwin: Join L. Dara Baldwin, MPA, Director of National Policy of the Center for Disability Rights, Inc. in conversation with Cidra Sebastien, Manager of the Black Girl Freedom Fund, for a conversation about investing in abundant futures for Black girls with disabilities.
Wednesday, February 17, 6:30pm ET | 5:30pm CT | 4:30pm MT | 3:30pm PT

Writing Our Future Through Storytelling and Narrative: Join actress, producer, and activist Kelly McCreary for an artistic visioning session with Eva Reign (Marsha P. Johnson Institute), Danielle Nolen (A Long Walk Home) about the importance of narratives centering Black girlhood.
Thursday, February 18, 4-4:30 PM, ET | 3-3:30 PM, CT | 2 - 2:30 PM, MT | 1-1:30 PM, PT

Move with Aimee Cox: Healing movement and meditation led by Dr. Aimee Cox, dancer, yogi and Yale anthropology professor.
Thursday, February 18, 5-6 PM, ET |4-5 PM, CT | 3-4 PM, MT |2-3 PM, PT

Ensuring Black Girl Futures Through Public Policy with the National Agenda for Black Girls: Conversation with Damala Denny, Organizing Manager at Girls for Gender Equity, about a national policy agenda for Black girls.
Friday, February 19, 4:30 pm ET | 3:30 pm CT | 2:30 pm MT | 1:30 pm PT

Wellness and Healing for Black Girls with A Long Walk Home: Explore the importance of wellness, and what healing means for Black girls. With youth members of A Long Walk Home and its Executive Director and co-founder, Scheherazade Tillet, who is also a co-founder of Black Girl Freedom Fund.
Friday, February 19, 6:30 pm ET | 5:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm MT | 3:30 pm PT

Black Girl Freedom Week Recap: Did you miss some of the exciting programming during the week? Not to worry, because Cidra Sebastien, manager for the Black Girl Freedom Fund, will share highlights from the week in this quick update.
Saturday, February 20, 6:30 PM, ET | 5:30 PM, CT |4:30 PM, MT | 3:30 PM, PT

Black Girl Magic with Special Guest
Let’s talk about the sparkle of Black Girl Magic and what a $1 billion investment means for Black girls and our community. A special guest joins Black girls for this important discussion.
Saturday, February 20, 7-7:30 PM, ET | 6-6:30 PM, CT |5-5:30 PM, MT | 4-4:30 PM, PT

Party Closing Celebration: Need a little energy and joy? Come celebrate with us as we wrap up the first Black Girl Freedom Week, and be reenergized for the collective work we have ahead.
Saturday, February 20, 8-9 PM, ET | 7-8 PM, CT | 6-7 PM, MT | 5-6 PM, PT

About The Black Girl Freedom Fund

The Black Girl Freedom Fund is an initiative of Grantmakers for Girls of Color (G4GC). G4GC is fiscally-sponsored project of Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors.

Subscribe
Black Girl Freedom Fund © 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Visit our IMAGE CREDIT page for information on all the photos featured on the Black Girl Freedom Fund website